Participation in the CDU/CSU parliamentary group congress on development policy

The CDU/CSU parliamentary group congress on 19 May 2021 was dedicated to the German development policy, the 2030 Agenda, as well as to reviewing and looking ahead after 8 years of German development policy under the leadership of Federal Minister Dr. Gerd Müller. The Director of the German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) Prof. Dr. Anna-Katharina Hornidge also participated in the discussion. Speeches by MdB Hermann Gröhe (Deputy Chairman of the CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group in the German Bundestag), Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel, Minister Dr. Gerd Müller and the Minister of Economy and Cooperation of the Republic of Senegal, Amadou Hott, were followed by a panel discussion on the following question: Which drivers for sustainable development do we need to mobilise in order to successfully support the development goals?

Along with Prof. Dr. Anna-Katharina Hornidge, Roland Siller, Division Director of Principles/Latin America at KfW Entwicklungsbank and Monsignor Pirmin Spiegel, the Chief Executive Officer of Misereor, contributed to the debate moderated by MdB Volkmar Klein. In her review of the German development policy under Minister Müller, Anna-Katharina Hornidge emphasised the role of the Due Diligence Act. The Act represents an example of structural policy for sustainable development that aims at achieving the right to self-determination for every human being. Looking ahead, the Director of DIE argued that development policy should be understood as the formation of cooperative relationships on an equal footing, aligned towards a joint management of planetary challenges, which are geographically unbound (and thereby foster cooperation with low-income countries, emerging economies and OECD member countries), but at the same time are committed to democratic values and human rights.

The event can be viewed at:

Leave Comment

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert