Imme Scholz elected as deputy chair of the German Council for Sustainable Development

Photo: imme Scholz, acting director of the German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE)

Imme Scholz, ©DIE

Chancellor Angela Merkel has appointed the 15 members of the German Council for Sustainable Development for the term 2020-2023, starting 1 January. In its first meeting the Council elected Imme Scholz as deputy chairperson. Werner Schnappauf, former Bavarian Minister for the Environment, was elected chair of the Council. With Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul, former German Minister for Development Cooperation, and Cornelia Füllkrug-Weitzel, President of Bread for the World, development expertise is strongly represented in the Council. The members agreed upon an extensive list of topics as well as on next steps to develop a work programme for the years 2020 to 2023. The next meeting of the Council will take place on 4 February and include an exchange with the Minister-President of North Rhine-Westphalia, Armin Laschet, and with the ministers for the Environment, for Economic Affairs and of Finance of North Rhine-Westphalia.